Let’s Do the Link Dump Again

  • Switch pitcher meets switch hitter.  As far as I can recall, I thought the rule was that the batter has to pick a side and stick to it.  I don’t think there’s ever been a rule about the pitcher, since who’da thunk we’d ever see one who could switch pitch?  Insanity!  I love it.
  • You’ve seen that pic of the Microsoft staff of 1978 before.  Now, they’ve made a 30 Year Reunion pic.  In the update, the one person who wasn’t available for that pic back then shows up now. And, sadly, one member of the original pic has since passed on.

 
 
 

2 Responses to “Let’s Do the Link Dump Again”

  1. Jim
    23. June 2008 at 14:05

    That video of the ambidextrous pitcher was hysterical. As to the legality of his actions, the rules for switch-hitting are as follows: (found in thebaseballpage.com forums)

    “6.02 (a) The batter shall take his position in the batter’s box promptly when it is his time at bat. (b) The batter shall not leave his position in the batter’s box after the pitcher comes to Set Position, or starts his windup.

    6.06 A batter is out for illegal action when- (b) He steps from one batter’s box to the other while the pitcher is in position ready to pitch;

    Rule 6.06(b) is interpreted to mean the batter will be called out for changing boxes when the pitcher is in contact with the rubber. Umpires can sometimes prevent this from happening and are expected to try by stopping the batter’s action before he completes it. Other than that there are no restrictions to a switch-hitter switching boxes during one plate appearance.”

  2. Augie De Blieck Jr.
    24. June 2008 at 16:41

    Ah, thanks. So it’s an order of operations thing. You, the batter, CAN change, so long as the pitcher isn’t already positioned. Either way, it pretty much gives control in the situation entirely to the pitcher or a quick-witted batter who changes sides while the catcher throws the ball back to the mound. Interesting.